Jenison High School Athletics

Welcome to the Jenison Senior High Athletics Information website. Here you will find information regarding the athletic programs at our school.

For other information visit the links in the left column.

2019 SPRING TRY-OUTS/1st Day schedule

BASEBALL

F/JV/V –        Tryout: Monday, March 11th: :  9th, JV 3:30pm–6:00pm Varsity 6:00–9:00pm North Balcony

                        Athletic clothing, tennis shoes, baseball equipment, hat & gloves

                        F Coach:    Al Smith             alexandersmith@jpsonline.org

                        JV Coach:  Blake Smolen   bsmolen@jpsonline.org

                        V Coach:   Tim Keur            tkeur@jpsonline.org

LACROSSE

JV/Varsity      Tryouts:  Monday, March 11th @ 5:30pm field located between the pool & tennis courts

  Boys             Dress for outside  & bring appropriate full equipment

                                    V Coach:   Steve Strelecki   sbstrelecki@gmail.com  616-617-9946                                            

  Girls             Practice:  Monday, March 11th @ 5:00pm–7:00pm field located in between the soccer fields

                        Dress for outside  & bring appropriate full equipment

                                    Coach:  Tess Copes   copes.tess@outlook.com

GOLF (boys)

JV/ Varsity – Tryouts:  Monday, March 18th @ 3:00pm

                        Practice at hitting nets: South Balcony/Kamstra Gym, dress accordingly

                        JV Coach:   David Brown      davidbrown@jpsonline.org

                                    V Coach:    Don Lancaster     drltr6@yahoo.com

SOCCER

 JV/Varsity – Tryouts:  Monday, March 11th

                        Soccer Stadium (outside) 3:30 – 6:00pm  or  Gym (inside)  5:00 -7:00pm

                        Listen for announcements – Weather Dependent

                                    (must be prepared for either indoor or outdoor tryouts)                            

                                    Contact Mr. Zuber for specific tryout information – room 303

                        JV Coach:  Alisia VanTine                  alisia.vantine@gmail.com

                        V Coach:   Phil Zuber,   Room 303   pzuber@jpsonline.org                          

SOFTBALL

F/JV /Varsity Tryouts:  Monday, March 11th

                        Kamstra girls locker room/Main Gym   3pm – 6pm

                        Workout clothes/gym shoes & softball equipment

                        F Coach:  Madison Dieleman, Room 214,  mdieleman@jpsonline.org

                        JV Coach:   Kelly Cole, Room 401,    kcole@jpsonline.org 

                        V Coach:    Kari Kossen,  PE Classroom,   kkossen@jpsonline.org    667-3378  

TENNIS (girls)

JV/Varsity –  Tryouts:  Monday, March 11th.  5am-7am            Premier Tennis Club @ Ramblewood, GVL

                        JV Coach:   Jeff Brown            jeffreybrown@jpsonline.org

                        V Coach:     Scott Gregory     scottrgregory84@gmail.com                                               

TRACK

Boys –            Practice:  Monday, March 11th @ 3:00pm. – meet in Mr. Diekever’s room 315 @ 3:00pm

                        Bring both indoor and outdoor workout clothes (SWEATSHIRT & SWEATPANTS)

                        Head Coach:   Sam Diekevers  sdiekevers@jpsonline.org

                        Sprinters/Pole Vault/Long & High Jump: Coach Sam Diekevers

                        Distance:  Coach Jacci Storey  jaccistorey@gmail.com

                        Throwers:  Coach Mike VanderBeek   mvanderb@jpsonline.org                 

Girls –            Tryout: Monday, March 11th  3:00 – 5:30pm  Meet in Room 406 (Mr. Kopec)

                        Be prepared to practice outside – RUNNING shoes, snack & water bottle

                        Head Coach:  Kelly Tavis   ktavis@jpsonline.org 

                        Asst. Coach:  Isaac Kopec  ikopec@jpsonline.org  Room 406

WATERPOLO       

JV/Varsity -   Tryouts:  Monday, March 11th  @ Pool - 3pm      

                        Bring suit, cap, and goggles 

                        Pool Office:  616-667-3571    www.jenisonaquatics.org

                         V Coach:   Nicole Redder        nredder@jpsonline.org

                         JV Coach:  Spencer Sanders   sjysanders@gmail.com

 

New for the 2019-2020 school year

 

Academic Eligibility Policy For Incoming 9th Graders (effective 19-20 school year)

 

Each student-athlete, including club sports, must meet the school athletic Grade Point Average (GPA) requirement.  For the 4th 9 week marking period a minimum GPA of 2.0 is required for unlimited competition.  Student-athletes that fall below a 2.0 GPA in the 4th marking period may use their semester GPA instead.

 

For eligibility to reinstated a student athlete must:

1.  Meet with the Athletic Director to develop a personal eligibility plan.

2.  Meet the requirements stated in the personal eligibility plan.

3.  Maintain the requirements stated in the personal eligibility plan for the duration of the sport season.